MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF WICKLOW COUNTY COUNCIL HELD IN SHORELINE LEISURE CENTRE, GREYSTONES, CO. WICKLOW ON MONDAY 15TH JUNE, 2020 COMMENCING 4.30PM

PRESENT:

COUNCILLOR I. WINTERS, CATHAOIRLEACH, COUNCILLORS. T. ANNESLEY, J. BEHAN, V. BLAKE, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, M. CREAN, A. CRONIN, S. CULLEN, G. DUNNE, E.DOYLE, A. FERRIS, P. FITZGERALD, A. FLYNN KENNEDY, T. FORTUNE, P. GLENNON, M. KAVANAGH, P. KENNEDY, P. LEONARD, G. MCMANUS, D. MITCHELL, J. MULLEN, J. NEARY, D. O'BRIEN, P. O'BRIEN, R. O'CONNOR, L. SCOTT, J. SNELL, E. TIMMINS, G. WALSH AND I. WINTERS.

APOLOGIES:

COUNCILLOR M. MURPHY AND COUNCILLOR G. O NEILL

IN ATTENDANCE:

- MR. F. CURRAN, CHIEF EXECUTIVE
- MS. L. GALLAGHER, A/DIRECTOR OF SERVICES/ MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR
- MR. B. GLEESON, HEAD OF FINANCE
- MR. J. LANE, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES
- MS. B. KILKENNY, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES
- MR. M. NICHOLSON, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES
- MR. C. LAVERY, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES
- MR. L. FITZPATRICK, HEAD OF IS SUPPORT
- MS. V. DELAHUNT, HEAD OF ENTERPRISE, WICKLOW LEO
- MS. S. WALSH, SENIOR PLANNER
- MS. B. MCCARTHY, FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTANT
- MS. T. O'BRIEN, SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER
- MR. M. OVINGTON, ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER
- MR. D. FORDE, DISTRICT ADMINISTRATOR
- MS. M. PORTER, DISTRICT ADMINISTRATOR
- MS. F. FLYNN, ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER
- MS. K. BOYLE, ANALYST DEVELOPER
- MS. G. LANG, ASSISTANT STAFF OFFICER

ITEM NO. 1

Election of the Cathaoirleach (Section 36 of the Local Government Act, 2001)

At the outset Cllr. I Winters welcomed all present to the annual meeting of Wicklow County council and advised that as her year had come to a close she could only describe it as 'different' in that the normal focus had changed to adapt and deal with the Covid 19 crisis and as the Council is a vital part of the community it had to deal with the challenges that presented which she said had been dealt with exceptionally well. In taking a look back at her year in Office the Cathaoirleach referred to the projects which had commenced and the ones which had progressed and set out a number of areas where progress and achievements had been made in the areas of housing, enterprise, infrastructure and community. Cllr. Winters thanked the Chief Executive, Mr. Frank

Curran, and the senior management team and staff of Wicklow County Council for the support during the year and also her colleagues the elected members and her family. She concluded by saying that it was an honour and a privilege to have served as Cathaoirleach and that she had enjoyed it immensely.

The Chief Executive expressed gratitude on his own behalf and on behalf of the entire staff of Wicklow County Council to the Cathaoirleach for the help and support that she had given throughout her term and the support that she had given to the projects mentioned.

Elected members collectively paid tribute to ClIr. I. Winters on the exemplary manner in which she carried out her duties as Cathaoirleach representing County Wicklow in what was a very difficult last six months with the onset of Covid 19. She was congratulated on the manner in which she performed her role and for impartiality and fairness and that she had made herself available to discuss issues and concerns when required. The Chief Executive and Elected Members wished her well for the future.

Cllr. I. Winters called for nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach for the forthcoming year.

Cllr. P. Fitzgerald proposed Cllr. P. Kennedy as the Cathaoirleach. The proposal was seconded by Cllr. S. Bourke. As there were no further nominations Cllr. P. Kennedy was elected Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council and accordingly took the Chair.

Before calling for nominations for Leas Cathaoirleach, the newly elected Cathaoirleach addressed the Council. Cllr P. Kennedy advised that he was honoured to be given the opportunity of the position of Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council for the coming year and thanked the elected members for their support. He paid tribute to Cllr. Irene Winters describing her as an outstanding Cathaoirleach and a 'tough act to follow'. He acknowledged the important work being undertaken by the Chief Executive, the Management Team and the entire staff of the Council and said that he would work hard to improve the promotion of this work. He pledged to work with his fellow Councillors through this difficult period of Covid 19 and to bring the county through the other side of the pandemic. He outlined the areas he would be focusing on over the next 12 months to bring investment opportunities into County Wicklow and to sustain and grow community wellbeing and recreational projects throughout the County. He concluded by saying that it was an immensely proud day for him personally and his family whom were present and thanked the elected members for putting their trust in him as Cathaoirleach for the next 12 months.

The Chief Executive and Elected members joined together in congratulating Cllr. P. Kennedy on his election as Cathaoirleach and wished him well in his position.

ITEM NO. 2

Election of the Leas-Cathaoirleach (Section 36 of the Local Government Act, 2001)

The Cathaoirleach called for nominations for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach.

- 1. Cllr. V. Blake proposed Cllr. S. Cullen, which was seconded by Cllr. P. Fitzgerald
- 2. Cllr. J. Snell proposed Cllr. T. Fortune, which was seconded by Cllr. M. Kavanagh.

Following a roll call, Cllr. S. Cullen was elected as Leas Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council by a margin of: 21 votes for Cllr. S. Cullen, 9 votes for Cllr. T. Fortune and 2 not present viz:

CLLR S. CULLEN	CLLRS. T. ANNESLEY, V. BLAKE, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, A. CRONIN, S.
(21)	CULLEN, E. DOYLE, G. DUNNE, A. FERRIS, P. FITZGERALD, A. FLYNN
	KENNEDY, P. GLENNON, P. KENNEDY, D. MITCHELL, J. MULLEN, J. NEARY, P.
	O'BRIEN L. SCOTT, E. TIMMINS, G.WALSH AND I. WINTERS.
CLLR. T. FORTUNE	CLLRS. J. BEHAN, M. CREAN, T. FORTUNE, M. KAVANAGH, P. LEONARD, G.
(9)	MCMANUS, D. O'BRIEN R. O'CONNOR AND J. SNELL
NOT PRESENT (2)	CLLRS. M. MURPHY AND G. O'NEILL.

The Chief Executive and Elected members joined together in congratulating Cllr. S. Cullen on his election as leas Cathaoirleach.

ITEM NO. 3

To agree schedule of ordinary/special meetings for the coming year

It was proposed by Cllr. G. Dunne, seconded by Cllr. V. Blake and agreed to the schedule of ordinary/special meetings for the coming year from July 2020 to June 2021, as circulated.

THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING

CLLR. PAT KENNEDY	MS. LORRAINE GALLAGHER
CATHOAIRLEACH	A/DIRECTOR OF SERVICES
WICKLOW COUNTY COUNCIL	MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR

Confirmed at meeting of Wicklow County Council held on Monday the 7th of September, 2020